In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Still

May 29, 2014. That was the last time I posted.

I’m still here at In the Night Farm. Still riding. Still writing, though more often in my head than on the interwebs. Still training some, but riding more. Still exploring the world in hiking boots and rafts, on skis and rappel.

May 29, 2014. Since then, Jammer and I have completed nearly 1,000 competition miles, bringing his AERC total up to 1,420. I’ve also done a handful of rides on other horses, including Maji (KS Bold Rusha Rain) and HHR Levjis Sualowa, a chestnut mare related to Jammer.

We’ve won a ride and a few BC’s, top-tenned more often than not…and completed our first 100. And our second 100.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My only regret is that, despite many gains, I have lost the time for regular blog updates. I thought of you all, out there on the 100-mile trails. Some of you were there from the beginning, when I had a farm full of untrained horses and a whole lot of will and a distant goal. A distance goal. The 100.

I’ll tell you a secret: It wasn’t as hard as I expected. We did the 100 at Sunriver Classic last June, then Oregon 100 in September. I may not have loved every minute of every mile, but I came damn close.

And I still want more.

Jammer and I have our eyes on the Mount Adams 100, which is coming up in just a few weeks. But our real goal for this year is the iconic Bighorn 100. A mountainous, big-loop 100 (with no returns to camp until the finish), Bighorn is reputed to be as beautiful and challenging as Tevis.

Speaking of Tevis: It scares the crap out of me. But still…

If anyone is still out there…stay tuned.  I’m considering opening a new blog with a broader scope, wrapping in my other outdoor adventures along with endurance. What do you think?

 

12 responses

  1. We’re still out here! Go kick ass!

    May 2, 2016 at 2:43 pm

  2. Dom

    Love hearing from you! Congrats on all you’ve been up to.

    May 2, 2016 at 3:03 pm

  3. jackie

    We are here and hoping to hear more.

    May 2, 2016 at 3:15 pm

  4. YES please. As a fellow endurance rider, skier, rock climber, hiker, & mountain biker, I definitely would love to read about your adventures! Congrats on the 100s and best to you in your next!

    May 2, 2016 at 4:20 pm

  5. Horseman

    Wondered where you went? Glad you are back and have you been busy! Stay safe.

    May 2, 2016 at 5:03 pm

  6. Debby

    Still here. What a coincidence, I was just searching for your blog today. Glad to see you’re still at it. I enjoy hearing your adventures. Keep up the good work, I’m looking forward to the new blog!

    May 2, 2016 at 7:27 pm

  7. Shana

    Congrats on the 100s! Yes, keep blogging.

    May 2, 2016 at 10:38 pm

  8. Hey, it’s fun to see all y’all still out there!!! I’m giving the new blog idea serious consideration…

    May 3, 2016 at 11:17 am

  9. Still here…would be happy to read about your new adventures!

    May 4, 2016 at 1:52 pm

  10. Hi Tamara. I found your blog way back in 2012 (I think) when I too was first starting out in endurance and was an information sponge. Always loved the way you write and much of what you said chimed with me, particularly the stuff on rider fitness (I now run 15 miles a week!). Since 2012 I have completed one 100 miler and the horse has done two. We are taking a shot at the Quilty this year down here in Oz. I would love to see you continue to write, when you have the time!

    May 8, 2016 at 9:28 pm

  11. John

    Wow – what a nice surprise to see you’re still there! I followed you from NightLife to The Barb Wire. Would love to see where you go next – I just think your writing is excellent, and enjoyable to read, whatever your writing about.

    And though I still know little about horses, I now have 10 acres in the Bozeman area and am learning to take care of a couple of the critters – interesting experience. (I know which end the hay goes in now…)

    Looking forward to what you have in store next.

    July 16, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

