In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Joyride

I’m baaaaaaack!

I haven’t been posting, but I have been riding, and it’s just about time to put Jammer in the trailer (along with the usual assortment of hoof boots, tack, blankets, feed, sprays, ointments, breeches, chaps, helmets, sunglasses, trail mix, propane…) and head for the hills.

We’re all set to attempt his first 50 at Eagle Extreme.  It’s a desert ride, and we’re expecting warm temperatures for this early in the season.  The horses still have a bit of winter coat hanging on, and the day is supposed to get up to mid-80’s.  That may slow us down, but it isn’t as though I was planning to burn up the trails anyway.  Not on Jam’s first time out.

I have a lot of packing to do between now and Friday, when we’ll leave for ride camp.  Preparing for an endurance ride is always a project (10-page packing list, anyone?), but this time I’m out of practice.  Can you believe I haven’t done a ride since Consolation’s last 50 at Fandango last May?  I’m just about a year — and a lifetime — out from that ride and I am way beyond excited to be back.

Excited in a quiet sort of way.  A content sort of way.  A way that has learned to be at peace in this moment, because we never know what is coming, but today there is sunrise and coffee on the north deck and horses in the pasture and people who care about us scattered all across this world.

Back in December, when there was more darkness than sun, I posted this L’Amour quote:  “There will come a time when you believe everything is finished.  That will be the beginning.”

It was true.

I knew it at the time, but it’s nice to be on the other side.

No, I haven’t been posting.  But I have been riding.  And living.  Learning.  Exploring.  I have taken up new sports (because I have time for THAT, right?) and enjoyed friends and worked hard and met someone special who can both understand my being and broaden it.

Fifty miles on the back of a horse under the Idaho sun sounds like a perfect place to contemplate it all.  To let the gratitude sink in.  Because that is what I feel.

Those mugs and hats and t-shirts have it right, you know.  Life is good.

See you on the trail!

11 responses

  1. Best wishes for a safe ride and Jammer’s first 50!

    May 8, 2013 at 7:25 am

  2. Kim

    It’s great to have you back! Good luck on the ride!

    May 8, 2013 at 7:48 am

  3. Cosette

    I am happy to see that you have been living life so fully during your absence from the blogging world but am very happy to have your posts to start my day.

    May 8, 2013 at 8:19 am

  4. Good luck and have fun!

    May 8, 2013 at 10:23 am

  5. Lori. Skoog

    You sound great! Have a great ride with Jammer and keep us posted.

    May 8, 2013 at 10:26 am

  6. Debby

    Nice to hear from you again! It’s always great to read your blog, and it inspires me to get out and ride more! Trail riding, that is! Great to see you again! Good luck and happy trails!!!

    May 8, 2013 at 3:12 pm

  7. Jenny Wren

    I don’t comment much but I check your blog frequently. Good to see that you are back.

    May 8, 2013 at 4:35 pm

  8. So nice to hear from you again! Sounds like your life is pretty full. Hope you have a great time on Jammer’s first 50!

    May 11, 2013 at 8:24 am

  9. Karen C.

    I am so happy to see you back posting so I can live vicariously thru your rides…for now. 🙂 I am even more happy that you have ventured out of the dark and back into the light. It sounds like you have come a long way in a few months. Kudos to you! Have a great ride with Jam and I can’t wait to hear how it goes! Karen and Tripp

    May 13, 2013 at 4:20 pm

  10. John

    Very nice to see your post – and glad to “hear a smile” once again in your writing.

    May 14, 2013 at 7:12 am

  11. Pingback: Welcome to the 2013 June Blog Carnival of Horses | EQUINE Ink

Leave a Reply

