In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Overflowing

A small chalkboard hangs in my kitchen.  I scribble quotes on it from time to time, bits of thought encapsulated by someone who stopped to think about what is good or right or true. 

For a while now, it has offered only two words:  Live beautifully.

Some people raise their eyebrows when they see it.  Some shift in slight discomfort, as though it were an inappropriate glimpse behind the curtain of my soul.  Most ignore it.  A few ask.

What do I mean by that?  Live beautifully. 

I mean that I choose to fill myself with all that is whole and healthful, genuine and bold, gentle and courageous and wise.  Things that build instead of break.  Exploration that brims the heart to overflowing, until I can’t help but share my gratitude with anyone, everyone, in my path.  Quietly.  Subtly.  Beautifully.

Of course I fail at this sometimes.  I am no better than anyone else.  But it matters that I try.

The best views follow the steepest climbs, my friends. 

And I am atop a mountain.

Your responses to my recent posts are part of what got me here.  They have filled.  I hope to repay you.

Maj&Jammer1-13

6 responses

  1. Kim

    I love this! I think I will be stealing that quote from you….

    March 8, 2013 at 10:26 am

  2. Bad writers borrow, they say, and good writers steal. Take it and run, Kim!

    March 8, 2013 at 10:27 am

  3. So good to have those little written meaningful reminders. Here is one of my favorites that I have posted on my wall and provides me inspiration:

    “What lies behind you and what lies in front of you, pales in comparison to what lies inside of you.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Alll in all sounds like you are getting some traction.
    Stay well friend..

    March 8, 2013 at 1:47 pm

  4. John

    You repay with every post those of us who are fortunate to read your thoughts, always so beautifully expressed.

    Hope you are healing as you are finding your way ahead.

    March 8, 2013 at 5:14 pm

  5. You are something! You certainly have the right attitude and sure know how to write about it. Kudos. The photo is gorgeous.

    March 8, 2013 at 8:22 pm

  6. Kristen

    Your posts have given me inspiration in my own meandering journey.

    March 10, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

