In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Announcement

I have been shopping.

During my long summer of painful indecision, I stocked up the cash I would have spent on rides, with vague thoughts of purchasing a horse.  Though I hadn’t yet chosen the path of selling some Barbs and buying some Arabians, the handwriting was on the wall.  I just didn’t want to read it yet.

It’s not that Barbs can’t do endurance, of course.  I’ve logged almost 1,000 AERC miles on them and never had one pulled.  They can finish just fine.  They typically have good minds and strong bodies, though some individuals are superior to others, just as with any other breed.  But let’s face it:  if you to do really well in endurance, your chances are best if you have an Arabian between you and the ground.

So I kept an eye out.  Casually at first, then more aggressively.  I began sending queries on ads for likely candidates.  I asked experienced endurance friends who know a lot of people and have good eyes for horses to keep their ears to the ground.

Here was my shopping list:

  • Gelding
  • Arab or mostly-Arab cross
  • Raised with plenty of varied terrain on which to roam, with proper health and hoof care
  • 4-7 years old, well started under saddle (because goodness knows I have enough training to do already)  Maybe even a slow 50 or two under his girth, for conditioning.
  • Big, clean bone and straight legs
  • Excellent feet, preferably black (not so much for the hooves themselves, but to reduce the risk of developing scratches)
  • Efficient stride that is smooth and easy to ride
  • Naturally fast walk (this one was a big deal for me, having dealt with Consolation’s amble)
  • Firmly installed brain that can think through problems and has a high flight threshhold
  • Good ground manners and laid-back personality
  • Plenty of “go” on the trail.  Must be game and enjoy his work.
  • Low resting heart rate
  • No history of lameness, colic, etc.

Easy, right?  The catch was that I had to find it all in a single horse.

…which leads me to the announcement.  I found him.

I haven’t taken a good photo yet, but here’s his ad, video and all:

HHR Jammazon

Welcome home, partner.

17 responses

  1. Beautiful boy — congrats!

    -Glenn

    October 14, 2012 at 6:47 am

  2. Fantastic!

    October 14, 2012 at 7:51 am

  3. Rosanne

    I had to chuckle when I saw your list of requirements. Easy to find them…but not always in one horse. 🙂 I watched his video-he’s a looker! Nice moves. I would buy him, he’d fit right into my little herd…I’ve already got three greys! 🙂 Do you have him home yet? Can’t wait to hear how you two are doing. Congratulations!

    October 14, 2012 at 8:12 am

    • Too true, eh, Rosanne? LOL I do have him at home already — I was lucky in that Belesemo is only about 12 miles from In the Night Farm.

      October 14, 2012 at 8:39 am

  4. K.C.

    That is so awesome! He is really stunning! I actually have someone looking at my boy this week and my trailer this afternoon!

    October 14, 2012 at 8:12 am

  5. Woohoo! Fingers crossed for you, KC!

    October 14, 2012 at 8:39 am

  6. lag321

    Nice! That is quite some feat, finding all that in one horse!!

    October 14, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  7. Congratulations Tamara and Jammazon! Here is a barn name suggestion – just incase you wanted help with that LOL – Jambo…….

    October 14, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    • Hahahaha! That sounds too much like what my mom called my brother as a kid. (His name was Jim.) But I do need a barn name, for sure. So far, it’s Jammer. I’m open to other ideas.

      October 14, 2012 at 7:34 pm

  8. Susan Catt

    Nice gelding Tamara, really nice!

    October 14, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    • Hi Susan! Thanks — he’s quite something. 🙂 🙂

      October 14, 2012 at 7:35 pm

  9. Oh that is awesome! good for you. He is quite a looker.

    October 15, 2012 at 11:05 am

  10. Liane

    Congrats, Tamara!! Looks like old bloodlines and very handsome at that!!

    October 15, 2012 at 7:19 pm

  11. Congrats on the new boy! He looks like he’s game for anything! I’m anxious to read all about your journey as you condition him and prepare for an exciting 2013 year of endurance rides.

    October 18, 2012 at 7:16 am

  12. Gheesh, when you sent me that message, I didn’t realize you had purchased an arab already!! Congrats! And here is something funny… I looked at this horses ad and thought to myself.. hmmm, if I were in the market .. this horse would be worth looking at! Glad he got a home with you ! I will be anxious to see how he does for you . He is a looker!

    October 22, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Leave a Reply

