In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

NKOTF

There’s a new kid on the farm! 

Meet Majesty:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kinda cute, eh?  She’s a 6 year old, mostly-Arab mare whose owner doesn’t have time to ride her.  I, meanwhile, have a big gap in my riding calendar since I’ve decided to lay Consolation off for an extended period.

Maji hasn’t been ridden in over a year; before that, she had 30 days of pro training in the hills, plus a few trail rides with her owner.  Getting her back to work will take a few “refresher” sessions, but she has a good mind and I expect to have her out on the conditioning trail shortly. 

I brought her home Tuesday night, and we started getting to know each other yesterday.  After a bit of grooming, we met our first challenge in the form of the Skin-Melting Fly Spray of Doom.  Miraculously, she survived (whew!) and we moved on to a little photo session.  I like to keep track of how my horses change over time, so photos are important to me. 

Next, I put a rope on her and lunged her for a bit.  I’m not keen on running her around in a bunch of circles, but working through some gait and direction changes seemed like the best way to get her mind working and establish some communication pathways.  Indeed, she took a while to shift her focus from her new herd buddies to me.  It was hot out and she’d worked up a decent sweat by the time she settled down to a few smooth reversals in a row, so we called that good for the day.

Almost. 

Her strong pull to the herd told me there was one more lesson I should instill early:  You must leave other horses.  It will be okay.  We will come back.

I led her away from the paddock area, just past the edge of her comfort zone, and let her graze for a couple minutes.  Once she relaxed and stopped looking over her shoulder, I took her home again.  Next time, we’ll go out a little farther.  Before long, she won’t think twice about it.  Easy.

13 responses

  1. She’s beautiful!

    August 16, 2012 at 10:00 am

  2. Debby

    She is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see how her training plays out! You are already doing a great job, sounds like!

    August 16, 2012 at 10:07 am

  3. Karen

    I am so happy for you!! She is absolutely stunning!

    August 16, 2012 at 10:30 am

  4. K.C.

    She’s gorgeous! You are gonna have so much fun!

    August 16, 2012 at 11:56 am

  5. Is she a JAC horse? She looks similar to several I know. Have fun with the new toy!

    August 16, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    • Crysta, I need to ask her owner about bloodlines. I don’t know! 🙂

      August 17, 2012 at 6:50 am

  6. Dom

    Ooh, she’s flashy!

    August 17, 2012 at 4:05 am

  7. She is beautiful!!

    August 17, 2012 at 4:57 am

  8. Is she a keeper or a loaner? Sure is pretty. Curious why your black colt isn’t an option? He sure is stunning.

    August 17, 2012 at 6:21 am

    • Thanks, all. 🙂

      Tammy, we’ll play the keeper vs loaner question by ear. She’s most likely “long-term,” regardless. The big difference between her and CJ is that she’s well started under saddle already. She just needs a bit of review, whereas CJ is starting from the very beginning. It’s a timing thing.

      August 17, 2012 at 6:49 am

  9. If I read correctly, she only has 30 days on her? ….. CJ could catch up to her in a month! And you would have a gelding to ride. 🙂

    August 17, 2012 at 6:33 pm

  10. I am just fishing for reasons for you to keep CJ; if he left the farm, I wouldn’t be able to live vicariously through you concerning him anymore! Sad face.

    August 17, 2012 at 6:35 pm

  11. what a looker!
    i found that even our ‘seasoned’ horses need to re-learn to be away from the herd occasionally!

    September 12, 2012 at 11:30 am

Leave a Reply

