In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Where’s the Fire?

This has been an odd summer.

The horses aren’t themselves.  And I am not myself.

Both Consolation and Acey seem to be struggling with vague, yet persistant, “issues” since Fandango.  I’m not sure what is going on, especially with Consolation, but I’m experimenting with omeprazole because I suspect ulcers. 

In the meantime, I haven’t been riding much.  It isn’t fun to ride horses that don’t want to be ridden.  We’ve had a few short, pleasant rides.  Kind of like trail rides.  (How novel.)  Both of my new saddles feel wonderful — to me and, I’m pretty sure, the horses — and I miss spending time in them.  But the girls don’t feel motivated to condition, and so I languish as well.

Part of me thinks I should try harder.  Push through.  Make it happen.  (Yeah, I’m pretty sure the horses wouldn’t appreciate that.)  Because it’s what I do.  Even when it’s hard.  Even when I don’t feel like it.  No matter what.  Passion is supposed to burn.

Where’s the fire?

But then again, I can’t force the horses to feel better.  I need to slow down.  Pay attention.  Listen. 

Go back to the vet, perhaps?  We’ve tried chiropractic, steroids, massage, and hock injections.  (This is for Consolation; Acey is a separate, and less concerning, matter.)  It’s too soon to tell about the omeprazole.  Could be stifles.  Or West Nile.  Or inadequate fairy dust.

I just want my horse to be happy.  If that means relaxing a bit, laying off for a season, remembering that there will be more rides in other years…then I guess I should accept that and enjoy today.  Because today is all we have.

Where’s the fire?

5 responses

  1. Ann Kitzmiller

    I was forced by circumstances to give my endurance horse about seven months off and it ended up being the best thing I could have done for him. In the future I plan to give my hard working horses “sabbaticals”–periods of real rest, not just a week or two off. Good luck to you and your horses.

    August 3, 2012 at 1:47 pm

  2. Rosanne

    Here’s hoping you aren’t dealing with ulcers…but I guess it’s better than having mysery illnesses. Been through the whole ulcer thing with one of our geldings. The Ulcerguard was expensive-but did the trick. We noticed a big difference in him since-including an increased appetite.
    My hubby is currently not doing rides either. We are transitioning our two main endurance horses to barefoot. They need the time off while they adjust to their ‘new’ feet. As hard as it is for my hubby to be patient-he knows it’s what his horses need right now.
    Hope your horses are back on track soon.

    August 3, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  3. You are right to put the horses first. Good and thoughtful mama.

    August 3, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  4. I remember putting a horse I didn’t particularly like for up for lease and then unexpectedly losing the gelding I planned to ride. We had the kids’ horses that I could ride, or my husband’s mare – but it wasn’t the same as riding my own. Kind of a weird feeling.

    You do what you can for your good horses. You have enough miles on Consolation to know when something isn’t right. Perhaps with Acey, it is just age and nothing serious. You’ll figure it out.

    Anxious to hear how your ride went without your horses.

    August 4, 2012 at 4:21 am

  5. I love that you do what is best for your horses. That is the right thing to do. I am in a similar situatiion, though not quite as concerning as Consolation’s issues. I decided to relax this summer and just do some fun, relaxing trail rides and remember what the passion truly is…our horses and their welfare 🙂 I might do a 25 in September if LJ is feeling up to it but we’ll see!

    August 4, 2012 at 9:55 am

Leave a Reply

