In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Odd

It feels strange to be preparing for a ride without packing tack, or feed, or a horse.  To take only the truck, with no trailer.  To go without Consolation.

But you don’t know about any of this, do you?  I’m behind on sharing news.  Things have been a little crazy.  Here’s the upshot:

Since Fandango, I have taken Consolation to the vet to determine why she hasn’t been herself lately.  We don’t have a clear answer on #3 yet, but it appears likely that she has stifle issues.  How bad?  We don’t know.  Maybe bad enough that she’s done with endurance.

I am trying to absorb this.  I am also trying to hold onto a little hope, but not too much, that it isn’t as bad as we think.  X-rays are scheduled for Monday.

In the meantime, I am grateful to have a couple really good friends.  The three of us had been planning to ride the 75 at Spring Fling tomorrow.  I was going to take Consolation, of course.  But, as it transpires, one of said friends has offered me her second horse instead.

Blue is the sweet, gray Arab I rode a couple days at Canyonlands last fall.  I like him.

It’s bittersweet, looking at my first 75 without my own horse.  But I couldn’t ask for a better substitute.

Ready, Blue?

14 responses

  1. Kathy

    Congratulations! and fingers crossed on news re: Consolation.

    June 22, 2012 at 6:09 am

  2. K.C.

    It’s so frustrating when our 4 legged beauties are having trouble and we can’t diagnose the problem. Good luck on your 1st 75, I wish you were taking your own girl. As we head to Nevada this weekend to bury my dad’s ashes and have his memorial service I too will be wishing I was out there on my boy. *HUGS*

    June 22, 2012 at 6:17 am

    • I’ll miss you being there, KC! I hope your trip is as smooth and calm as possible.

      June 22, 2012 at 6:22 am

  3. 1) how fun! 2) congrats – heard it was beautiful beyond belief 3) got my fingers crossed for good news 4) glad you have such great friends, enjoy the ride!

    June 22, 2012 at 6:30 am

  4. Rosanne

    Congratulations to you and Ironman! I sure hope you get some good news on Consolation. It’s probably a good thing that you have that nice ride to go to this weekend. Hope you have a good ride on Blue! 🙂

    June 22, 2012 at 6:41 am

  5. Long distance prayers that Consolation’s problems are able to be solved. Huge happy hug that Iron Man is now forever your’s 🙂 Good luck on the upcoming 75 miler, Keep us posted!

    June 22, 2012 at 7:04 am

    • Thanks, Jacke. I thought of you right away when we started having troubles. Together in frustration, eh?

      June 22, 2012 at 9:14 am

  6. I didn’t realize this was your very “first” 75……It will be a “first” for both of us!!!

    June 22, 2012 at 9:06 am

  7. Congrats!! And hoping for the best for your good mare. Good luck riding the 75! What a great friend.

    June 22, 2012 at 11:46 am

  8. Congrats! Love the wedding pics, you both look radiant. Hope you’re having a great ride today! Fingers crossed for Consolation 😦

    June 23, 2012 at 10:28 am

Leave a Reply

