In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

It was OK!

I don’t have time to post the details at the moment (places to go, horses to ride!), but Consolation’s ride yesterday went almost perfectly.  She switched her tail a few times and gave one, half-hearted head fling during our warmup, and that was it.  We proceeded to have a lovely, sane ride along the irrigation canal — 8 miles at 9 mph.  Consolation was all business, relaxed and happy, without the hypersensitivity and spookiness that have characterized her behavior for some time.  Hooray!

Oh, and I was finally able to sit easy and enjoy her new, custom Stonewall saddle.  It’s a prototype of the new mission style that Jackie is working on and wow, is it nice for both of us.  I’m excited to see how Consolation does this year in more comfortable tack.  This isn’t the best photo ever because I took it when the saddle first arrived in April, with a storm coming in and Consolation annoyed by her itchy back, but it gives you the idea.  I’ll get better shots soon.

Today, I’ll start with a canal ride on Acey and then take Consolation to the hills for a ride with Karen Bumgarner and her boy Blue.  We took Acey and Thunder up there yesterday; now it’s time for the greys.  Late in the afternoon, I’ll forgo hoof trimming in favor of a Mother’s Day (and late birthday for me) barbecue at my mom’s place.  Good thing, too.  I trimmed so many feet yesterday that my fingers, forearms, and quads are stiff today.

One response

  1. I’m so glad she’s feeling better!! Sounds like you had a wonderful ride 🙂

    Love the new saddle! It looks great on her!

    May 20, 2012 at 7:03 am

Leave a Reply

