In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Revved Up and Sitting Out

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Consolation is fit and frisky.  She could do 50 miles at Tough Sucker tomorrow.  I’d like to say that I’m throwing the last bits of gear in the trailer and heading out.  But I’m not.

The itch issue isn’t 100% resolved.  It seems to be resolving along her topline, but has moved down her sides.  I talked with her vet and he suggested treating it like a fungus, as these can present in myriad ways and this could just be a somewhat atypical case.  So, I’m slathering her with athlete’s foot cream and keeping an eye on her for a couple more days.

Even if that problem were taken care of, I think we’d sit this one out.  It doesn’t seem fair to ask Consolation for a 50 when we haven’t been able to go for some good rides to make sure she’s feeling perfect in other ways.  Her new Stonewall appears to fit beautifully, but we haven’t been able to give it a real test yet, so that’s another reason to wait.

Sigh.  I’m trying to remember that we’re still well ahead of where we were at this time last year.  And I’m (still) learning to take things as they come.  There will be more rides.

6 responses

  1. Rosanne

    Have you tried Stop the Itch Salve by Zephyr’s Garden? I had a horse with ‘mystery itch’ a few years ago-this stuff worked like a charm!
    Consolation looks like she’s ready to rock ‘n roll! Hope you figure out how to stop her itch so you can get out there and enjoy the riding!

    April 27, 2012 at 8:00 am

    • Not yet — there are SO MANY highly recommended anti-ich products out there, that I’d scarcely know where to begin. I really wish I could be sure of the root cause so I’d know I was treating the right condition, you know? I’ll add the Zephyr’s Garden salve to my list just in case! 🙂

      April 27, 2012 at 8:03 am

  2. hartsongranchmontana

    Oh I am sorry that you will have to sit out. I hope Consolation starts to feel less itchy soon- I know that in addition to missing out on the ride, there is an emotional weight when one of our charges is not up to par. Although she does look ready to go otherwise!

    Good luck on the rest of your season, I can’t wait to read about all of your adventures!

    April 27, 2012 at 9:29 am

    • Thanks, Heartsong. 🙂 It’s nice to know there are people out there who understand!

      April 27, 2012 at 10:12 am

  3. I’m sorry you have to sit it out, that’s always so disapointing. I think you made the right decision too. I hope her itch problem clears up ASAP!

    April 28, 2012 at 6:33 am

Leave a Reply

