In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Lioness

March, already!  She arrived shaking a mane of snow that blew in the dark and oblitered the freeway lines as I drove to the city.  It seems like all I do is work, lately, but the legislative session is (fingers crossed!) more than half over.  On weekends, I can peek beyond the confines of Outlook and power suits to glimpse endurance rides on the horizon. 

I’m hoping for an early start this season.  Our area’s first ride is the Owyhee Tough Sucker Part I, to be held on the first full weekend in April.  I think there’s a good chance of Consolation being ready.  We finished several back-to-back 50’s last year, the most recent at the end of October, and the weather cooperated such that I kept on riding right up until mid-December. 

At that point, I decided to give Consolation some time off while her new Stonewall was built.  We experienced a couple delays in getting just the right tree for her, so the saddle isn’t here quite yet, but in February we started putting in a few miles on the weekends.  She felt bright and strong, despite some “huffy-puffies” due to dimished aerobic capacity, which is the aspect of fitness that comes and goes most easily.  That capacity is rapidly improving despite irregular work, thanks to my schedule and some furious windstorms that drove mountains of tumbleweeds against the fences and sent great sheets of metal from the neighbor’s barn roof cartwheeling across the countryside. 

This morning, the dawn is cloudy but relatively warm.  Remains of Thursday’s snow still lie in the shadows, drenching the trails.  I suspect my planned, 25-mile route around Blackjack will be too slick for safety, so I’ll settle for some shorter rides around here.

Maybe I’ll even take a few pictures to post as my desktop wallpaper.  I could use a reminder that “this too shall pass.”

One response

  1. You are about ready to roll.

    Read the post below about saddle fitting and can’t say enough about how important it is for the comfort of your horse. We have had over 10 saddle fittings here by Ann Forrest, who is based in Florida but comes as an X Grand Prix rider from Scotland. Too many people don’t have a clue if their saddles fit properly.

    March 3, 2012 at 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

