In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

In Which I Find a Use for Full-Seat Breeches

A couple years ago, I ordered a pair of Tuff Rider full-seat, winter breeches from an online vendor.  Five days later, they arrived.  I tried them on and was disappointed to discover that they felt like an ill-fitted wetsuit from 1984:  bulky all over, stiff and diaper-like through the leather patches, and a really boring shade of navy.

Because I’d bought them on clearance, returning them wasn’t an option.  They went into my closet, folded neatly on a top shelf.  And there they sat…until last week.

I’ve decided to give Consolation some winter vacation while her new Stonewall is built.  We’ll do things other than condition.  We’ll dance in the round corral, go for long walks on dark evenings, handgraze on grasses leftover from summer.  And, we’ll hack out bareback.

So it was that I found myself looking around for something warm to wear for a little ride without getting my good winter breeches covered in dirt and hair.  Up there in the closet, patiently waiting, were the Tuff Riders.  Hmm, I thought.  Might as well try them.  We’re only going a few miles.

They were still bulky.  Still clingy.  Still navy.  And they were perfect.  That dratted full-seat patch not only made Consolation’s back a bit less slick, but it protected my legs from the itchy, dusty sweat that usually gives me a rash after riding bareback.  (Somebody tell me I’m not the only one who experiences that.  Please?)

Really, I couldn’t have asked for better bareback pants.  I’ve used them for exactly that, several times since.  Even now, their full-seat sports a whitish crescent of dried sweat from yesterday’s 4-mile trot — but I dismounted clean and dry.  Lovely.

_______________

Do you follow In the Night Farm on Facebook?

2 responses

  1. I HATE full seat jods. But I have never tried ridig in them bareback, I could see how they would be useful!

    December 17, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    • I hate them too — that was the first and last pair I ever ordered…but now I might have to get more! 😉

      December 18, 2011 at 6:52 am

Leave a Reply

