In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Back, and Gone Again

I’m baaaaaack!

Sorry for the long, unannounced absence — if you read my last post, you might recall that I was deciding whether I had time to go to the Bandit Springs ride in the midst of preparing for a 10-day river trip and trying to keep on top of an overwhelming workload at the office.

Well.  It seems that, not only did I have insufficient time to go to the ride, I didn’t even have time to blog.  Oops.

I did go rafting, though.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That was Black Bar Rapid, one of many fun rides early in the Wild & Scenic stretch of the Rouge River in southwest Oregon.  But enough of that.  I’m now back to riding horses instead of waves, and am all packed up to leave again — this time, for the Pink Flamingo Classic endurance ride in Cascade, Idaho.

I’m particularly excited because this is a forested, mountain ride so the scenery will be a nice change from my usual desert terrain.  And, it’s a well-managed ride that I haven’t been able to attend for several years, for one reason or another.  In fact, the last (and only) time I was there, I was riding Aaruba!  It was his second ride, and we were just doing LD’s.  At the time, I thought back-to-back LD’s were a challenge.  Ha!

This time, Consolation and I plan to take our first crack at back-to-back 50’s.   I think she’s ready.  Six weeks ago, at Cheap Thrills, she trampled the 50 with all A’s and I felt she could have gone another day… But still!  Multi-days!  This is the start of something I’ve wanted to do all these years.  Maybe it’ll come together at last. 

I suppose that, in a couple years, I’ll look back on this and wonder what the big deal was.  🙂

Anyway, time’s up!  Gotta go load the pony and hit the road.  See you on the other side!

7 responses

  1. Rosanne

    Your rafting trip looks like it was really fun! Glad you’re able to fit in another ride. Multi-days are the way to go. More bang for your buck! 🙂

    August 5, 2011 at 7:27 am

  2. tomandbuster

    Awesome! Have fun! Can’t wait to see the pictures and hear the story.

    August 5, 2011 at 9:08 am

  3. sj

    Quite an adventure!
    Glad to know you’re safe & sound.

    sj

    August 5, 2011 at 6:10 pm

  4. Can’t wait to see how this plays out. All the best to you and Consolation!

    August 5, 2011 at 6:58 pm

  5. funder

    Glad you’re well. Good luck at Pink Flamingos!

    August 10, 2011 at 9:14 am

  6. Hello! I enjoy your blog very much. I’m a hunter-jumper gal who just got back into riding after a substantial hiatus. Unrelated to getting back into riding, I began researching ways to become fit, and riding again has really increased this desire. I just finished reading your 6 (7?) part series Fit to Ride and I LOVED IT! I do not want to be a toothpick partner! So I was wondering, is it possible you could do an update post about your current fitness/ diet/ ideas? Would love to read about it…

    And your straight-forwardness is refreshing!

    ~Karen

    August 15, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    • Welcome, Karen! I’m glad you enjoyed the Fit to Ride series — and an update is certainly in order! I’ll try to get one up shortly! 🙂 (In the meantime, you can check out my health & fitness blog here: http://inthenightlife.wordpress.com/

      September 1, 2011 at 10:13 am

Leave a Reply

