In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Addiction

The more I ride, the more I want to ride.  Just a week out from Cheap Thrills, I’m already champing at the bit for another race.  The next one in my immediate vicinity isn’t until August…but there is Bandit Springs, about 6 hours’ drive away in Oregon’s Ochoco National Forest.  It’s a ride I’ve wanted to attend for years, but never figured was worth the trip unless my horse felt up to doing 50’s both days.

After Cheap Thrills, I’d put my money on Consolation being ready.  The drive isn’t that big a deal.  I’ve secured the vacation time from work.  I’ve sent my (refundable) entry fees to get the discounted price.  But I still haven’t decided.  Life keeps getting in the way.

The ride is next weekend.  The weekend after that, I leave for a 10-day whitewater rafting trip.  If you’ve ever gone rafting, particularly on a private trip with all your own equipment, food, etc., then you know it’s a project to get ready.  Believe me, it’s even worse than preparing and packing for a multi-day endurance ride.

Meanwhile, I have 20 tons of hay sitting on my upper drive.  I stacked 8 tons of it under shelter yesterday, but that leaves quite a lot to do before I can even thinking about packing for endurance or rafting.  Then there’s the farmsitter issue.  And on top of that, I have so much going on at the office that I can scarcely see straight.

Choosing to go to Bandit will create more stress than I need right now.  On the other hand, it’s for a good cause.  It’s what I love to do.  You only live once.  What to do?

I reckon, for now, I’ll just keep playing this one by ear…

10 responses

  1. Go for it! You’re right – you only live once. A “second” chance to go may arise, but may not. I’m tracking down a farmsitter lead for you I got yesterday.

    July 3, 2011 at 7:27 am

  2. I would hold off on the ride. I used to try to jam one thing after another into my hectic life, but have come to find that the added stress is greater than the positive aspects of the experience.

    I really like, and get a kick out of, the Buddhist saying “Don’t do something, just sit there.” 🙂

    July 3, 2011 at 8:29 am

    • I think you’re right, Tom. Just thinking about the turnaround time from ride to rafting makes my shoulders tense. Not a good sign.

      Love the quote. Ha! 🙂

      July 3, 2011 at 8:45 am

  3. Sometimes it’s best to wait until the last minute to decide on things like this, although I’m sure that might irritate your farmsitter. If I were you, I’d keep plugging along (packing for the rafting trip and stacking hay) and then see how far along you are in a few days. Work might be easier this week thanks to the holiday tomorrow, too.

    Endurance riding seems to be a sport where all the stars have to align (horse has to be healthy and in top condition, you have to get vacation time, money for gas…not to mention a farm babysitter, you have to be physically ready, etc). So I know what you mean about not wanting to pass on the opportunity up if you’re ready to roll! I hope you get to go.

    July 3, 2011 at 10:42 am

  4. sj

    What would you do if there was no such thing as time?
    What would you do if there was no such thing as money?
    Chances are, that’s the thing you should be doing.
    🙂

    “Follow your bliss and don’t be afraid.”

    At least, that’s what the fortune cookie said.

    sj

    July 4, 2011 at 6:29 am

  5. Rosanne

    Well, I guess the hay must be stacked and put away. Packing for the rafting trip is a must…and that sounds like fun! Hopefully, work will slow down enough to give you a little breather. I’d want to go to the ride too, but it sounds like it may be too much all at once. 😦 I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

    July 4, 2011 at 7:12 am

  6. Debby

    I say, Go for it!!! But I do agree with Fetlock, sometimes you want everything lined up, before taking off. Do what’s in your heart…

    July 4, 2011 at 1:27 pm

  7. So what ended up being your decision? Miss your lovely blog entries!

    July 25, 2011 at 11:15 am

  8. “The more I ride, the more I want to ride.” that’s called an addiction. i have it too!!! did you go to Bandit?

    August 2, 2011 at 8:21 am

Leave a Reply

