In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Nerd in Paradise

It’s here!  My Garmin Forerunner 305 is here!

Actually, it arrived in the middle of last week.  I spent some time reading the instructions (!) and, happily, encountered no difficulty using the device for the first time yesterday.  So far, my favorite feature is the “auto pause,” which stops the timer when we stop moving, so grazing and photo breaks don’t skew our average pace.  I haven’t tried the heart rate monitor yet; I’ll read those instructions next.

According to Garmin, we went 16.13 miles yesterday at an average speed of 4.6 mph.  SLOW.  However, we climbed 3,000 feet and descended them again, so there was plenty of walking in the mix.  Consolation is an excellent downhill trotter, but there’s no point beating up her joints by conditioning that way.  Also, I gather that GPS is not entirely accurate in hilly terrain, because it measures as the crow flies and doesn’t account for the extra distance resulting from altitude change (though Google searches fail to confirm this absolutely).  The variance estimate I hear most frequently is 10%.

The software that turns rides into maps, charts, and graphs is fascinating.  I’ve entered Consolation and Acey as “users.”  Let the nerdfest begin!

4 responses

  1. Rosanne

    Yay! It sounds like you are in nerd heaven with your new Garmin! That is the same model my hubby got earlier this year. It has worked quite well for him…actually, he LOVES it. 🙂 Gotta agree with you on the downhills. We never trot our horses down hills on training…and never on rides if it’s a long, steep downhill. He usually will get off and run down with the horse.

    Geez…your girl sure has a thick mane! Nice!

    June 5, 2011 at 9:07 am

  2. Dom

    Hmmm… reading the instructions. I should try it some time.

    June 5, 2011 at 9:34 am

  3. I am soooo guilty of nerdiness when it comes to stuff like this!! I’m so excited for you, this is one of the major things on my wishlist, as well.

    Apollo and I are entered in another race this weekend, the Old Dominion in Orkney Springs, Va. The LD is measured at 25 miles. So EXCITED! Apollo is in fine form!!

    June 5, 2011 at 9:35 am

  4. Go nerd!

    June 5, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Leave a Reply

