In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Canyon Climb

Last one, I promise!  I’ll stop posting ride photos for a while after this, but I had to share.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are from Consolation’s and my climb out of the Owyhee River Canyon at Snively Hot Springs.  The trailhead (if you can call it that; the closest thing to a trail was an occasional cow path) is a little more than a hour’s trailer ride from In the Night Farm.  Leaving Ironman to fly fish on a flooded river bank (good luck!), Consolation and I started up a creekbed, swung west, and began our climb. 

It was slow going and very technical in places as we leaped up rocky ledges and picked steep, winding routes among small boulders.  Between ridges, we threaded our way through gnarled sagebrush, trotting when we could before reaching the next, steep climb.

Surprisingly, it took us just two hours to reach the rim and find our way back again, sometimes with my feet braced in stirrups tilted to the points of Consolation’s shoulders as she navigated the downward slope.  Boy, was I glad to be secure in my Stonewall, on a horse that responded to light cues so she could have all the rein she needed!

I’m guessing the whole ride was less than 8 miles, but believe me, it was a workout.  Consolation is resting now, having put in 45 miles last week, and so my attention swings back to Ripple and Acey…

5 responses

  1. Great posts on your weekend outing.. what a hill you two climbed! WOW!! That’s Montana worthy climbing…with that kind of training, your sure to makes some leaps and bounds in the conditioning.. Kudos to you to get out and explore…amazing what kinds of things one can learn about our horses abilities when put to a test…isn’t it??

    June 1, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  2. Rosanne

    You’ve got some fantastic places to ride! Sorry I didn’t explain the cholla thing. We have tons of it out here in AZ. It’s the worst when your horse gets it stuck on them…they turn into bucking broncs. 🙂

    June 1, 2011 at 9:16 pm

  3. gorgeous! we missed you at the Fandango!

    June 4, 2011 at 8:00 am

    • Thanks, Merri — I SO wanted to be there!! But as you can see, I found something better to do than just sit around feeling sorry for myself. 😉

      June 4, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Leave a Reply

