In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Gang Aft Agley

Sigh.

The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men…

The hoof clinic is cancelled, courtesy of EHV-1.  Too many people dropped out.  (On the subject of EHV-1, if you haven’t read Fandango head vet Dr. Washington’s thoughts, you should.  Merri quoted him here (scroll down to the bold section).

As for my plans, I reckon I’ll haul Consolation along to Oreana tomorrow evening instead of today.  Perhaps Christoph will be so kind as to take a quick peek at Consolation’s hooves sometime Thursday.  I’d really value his opinion as I make my final decision about riding on Friday.

4 responses

  1. Rosanne

    I hope I didn’t sound judgemental in my last comment. I sincerely believe you WILL make the best decision for your horse. My husband rides endurance and is just very cautious. He won’t go with a horse that he thinks he may have to pull. He doesn’t feel it’s worth his time (or money) these days to go with a less than ready horse. He has the luxury of having three that are usually ready to go at any time. But right now the horse he had planned on doing Tevis on this year is a little off. Haven’t figured out his problem yet, but he has already decided to pull out of Tevis because it’s getting too close.

    It doesn’t seem as though there will be a ton of riders at Fandango, so chances of an EVH-1 issue are extremely remote. Having Christoph take a look at Consolation would probably be a good thing. I hope you can figure out what’s going on with her.

    May 24, 2011 at 11:35 am

    • Not at all! 🙂 I tend toward the “very cautious” side as well and won’t start if I think there’s a good chance of needing to pull. Obviously, a pull can happen any time for a variety of reasons, but I’ll only start if I’m reasonably confident that she’ll do just fine. (If I waited for FULL confidence, I might never start a race! I’m so dang paranoid sometimes!)

      May 24, 2011 at 11:45 am

  2. Rosanne

    I hear ya on the being paranoid thing! (that’s me-I’m such a worry-wort) 🙂

    FYI the AERC just issued a position paper on the EVH-1. Makes good sense to me.

    May 24, 2011 at 11:49 am

    • Hey, thanks! I hadn’t seen that paper yet.

      May 24, 2011 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

