In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Dancing Girl

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not exactly the picture of distress, is she?

In fact, Consolation’s jumpy, hypersensitive behavior has all but disappeared.  She seems quite sound and energetic, but not excessively “hot.”  I don’t plan to ride her for another week, but I’m very curious to see whether she has returned to normal under saddle, too. 

I still have my eye on a trip to the vet to have her checked for hoof (or other) soreness.  Also, I’ve registered for next week’s Hoof Care Options for the Competitive Endurance Horse clinic put on by Christoph Schork and Dr. Olin Balch, and may haul Consolation in for their evaluation.  Problem is, my horse trailer is currently visiting my welder for some modifications; it may or may not be available in time.  Also, I’m slightly leery of taking any of my horses to any outside facility at the moment, given the EHV-1 outbreak.  We shall see.

10 responses

  1. Definitely looking forward to a review of the clinic! and I’m glad Consolation is back to normal, but I wish you could’ve figured out what was going on. :-/ Hopefully it’s a mystery that never recurs.

    May 21, 2011 at 8:20 am

    • Review promised. 🙂 I’m not sure she’s normal yet (see update soon — she was cringy again yesterday) but she’s definitely improved… hmmm…

      May 22, 2011 at 6:37 am

  2. Rosanne

    Glad to see that Consolation seems like her old self again! Hopefully, her issue has resolved itself. These mystery ailments in our horses can drive us a little crazy. We are currently dealing with one right now. 😦 The clinic sounds like a good way to spend a day. But I’d be a little leery about taking our horses off our ranch right now, too. We’ve had a few rides cancelled as a result of this stinking virus. Better safe than sorry though.

    May 21, 2011 at 9:11 am

    • Frustrating, isn’t it? I do hope this has resolved itself, though I’m not convinced yet… Hope yours is okay!

      May 22, 2011 at 6:36 am

  3. Dom

    She looks great!

    May 21, 2011 at 9:40 am

    • Thanks, Dom. She was full of herself!

      May 22, 2011 at 6:35 am

  4. Consolation looks stunning!

    May 21, 2011 at 11:56 am

  5. indi

    She looks magnificent…
    It would be awesome to go to one of Christophs clincs!

    May 21, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    • Thanks, Indi. I’ll post about the clinic, for sure. Excited!

      May 22, 2011 at 6:34 am

Leave a Reply

