In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

If the Boot Fits

Ah-ha!  I think I’m a step closer to solving my hoof booting issue with Acey.

I took some time yesterday to give her front hooves a fresh trim, then measure their length and width for comparison to the fitting charts on Easycare’s website.  No wonder Acey’s feet are hard to fit!  Those round little hooves really are quite round: 

Left front — 105 mm wide, 108 mm long

Right front — 105 mm wide, 111 mm long (I think this toe will come back a hair more with future trims)

Basically, my problem isn’t that the 00 Gloves are too small; it’s that Acey’s hooves aren’t the shape for which Gloves are designed.  In fact, her width is appropriate for an 0, but her length is only 00.  As you can see from the photos below, the 00 Gloves are tight on the sides, but there’s waaaaay too much gapping in front.  Wall angle may be another factor here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, what to do?  It seems that Epics might fit, but I’m not excited about the prospect for a couple reasons:

  • Epics cost $80 apiece, which is about $25 more than a Glove.
  • I’m pretty sure Epics are much, much harder to get on and off than Gloves are.  I remember all too well the wrestling match I used to have with Aaruba’s Bares.  It was miserable.  I really don’t want to do that again.  (Note that I haven’t actually tried Epics before; perhaps they’re easier than I think…but I doubt it, given the fitting description on Easycare’s site.  Anybody know?)

Speaking of Bares, I actually have several 00’s lying around.  According to the Easycare charts, they ought to fit Acey.  I was planning to find out yesterday, but a thunderstorm blew in and we all had to run for cover.  I’ll try again soon.

With luck, the Bares will work for now.  If they don’t fit or are too difficult to install, we can always haul out to dirt trails for rides.  And this summer, I hear, Easyboot will introduce a wide version of the Glove.  Hooray!

ETA:  Looks like Amanda at Chronicles of the Pink Helmet is exploring similar, wide-foot booting challenges.  See her post here.

10 responses

  1. Aemi

    I have always been very happy with my Epics, and I have been using them for years. They go on very easy actually, and to remove them I simply slide a flat head screwdriver down each side, push against the bottom of the boot, and alternate back and forth until they jimmy off.

    It’s funny though. Each and every horse in my barn wears a different style boot! So I know what you’re going through! I haven’t tried the bares yet though. 😉

    May 19, 2011 at 6:43 am

    • Glad to hear you like the Epics, Aemi! I really really really don’t want to have to struggle to get boots on and off for every ride!

      May 19, 2011 at 11:44 am

  2. I have the same issue with one of our AT geldings… but I think they just came out with EasyBoot Gloves for horses with round feet!

    May 19, 2011 at 11:42 am

    • Thanks for commenting, Jenny! I don’t think the “Wides” are out quite yet, but they’re on the way this summer…I’ll double-check, though, because I’d really like to get ahold of some now. 🙂

      PS Your horses are lovely. I’ve always like ATs.

      May 19, 2011 at 11:45 am

  3. Hi-
    This is the exact fitting issue I had with JB’s very round feet with the gloves!! You might remember all my struggles, ( I think I posted them!) Never could get gloves to work for him but used the Epics successfully. I really didn’t think they were horrible to manage getting on and off. Once I got a system down, I could slap them on pretty quick. I did have to make some modifications even with the Epic to fit JB’s little round feet.I put in the comfort pads and but the toungue and the front of the boot about a 1/4 inch. His feet are not very big from top to bottom and even with the pads, once they were squished down, seemed to be sitting too deep in the boot. It worked out great and until they get the gloves fitting rounder hooves (supposed to be coming out with a new design), I am sticking with them. They are more pricey but in my situation , it was worth it because it kept JB more comfortable. Feel free to email me if you need more details on getting them to work.

    May 23, 2011 at 9:00 am

    • Thanks, Jonna! I’ll pick your brain more on this one for sure. Glad the Epics haven’t been a nightmare — I’m starting to believe they must be easier than the Bares. Thank goodness, because I did some more work on Acey’s feet and they’re now just over the line to 000 size, which I’m guessing won’t be available even in the Glove Wides. OTOH, her feet may get bigger by the time the Wides come out, or the Wides may fit differently…we’ll just have to see.

      May 23, 2011 at 9:03 am

  4. My Lily also has very round feet. Bares are horrible to get on and worse to get off. I went back to them for one ride after loosing a Renegade in 2′ of mud. I’ve now replaced the Renegade and will happily go back to them! They are easy on and off. I just cut back the bottom at the heel and adjust the cables shorter in a one time fitting and they have been working great.

    I may try the new version of Gloves when they come out, as they are less expensive. Until then Renegades are it for her round feet.

    May 28, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    • Thanks for the Renegade modification tip! I’ve never tried them because, although they look easy to use, they’re so expensive! Might have to, though, if the Glove Wides don’t fit.

      May 29, 2011 at 6:27 am

  5. There is a line molded into the sole of Renegades where you cut it back. There are directions somewhere on their site. Hoof nippers are the tool of choice. I was hesitant the first time, but it has worked really well for us. And they come in cool colors! Our new pair are glittery gold. 😉

    May 29, 2011 at 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

