In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Lady of Mystery

Consolation, 2002 Barb mare (Arivaca x Dove) Photo by Michael Ensch.

This is Consolation as of Saturday afternoon.

She looks fantastic.  Her attitude is bright.  Her coat and eyes shine.  She eats like a mosquito in a nudist colony.  Last night, she got the wind under her tail and forgot to be dignified.  She twisted and bucked and galloped and leaped all around her paddock, looking for all the world like a cross between a dressage champion and a rodeo bronc. 

I’ve decided to rest her for a while.  Thinking back to last year, when she was behaving very much as she is now, it was a long break after a tie-up that cured her.  We never established for certain what the problem was (hoof pain was the chief suspect), but it resolved with time and she came back raring to go.  So, a rest it is.  We’ll do some gentle exercise daily, plus full-time turnout, but no conditioning rides for at least a couple weeks. 

Then, we’ll see how she goes.

4 responses

  1. sj

    Good call.
    Sometimes a little rest is just the thing.

    sj

    May 17, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    • Maybe so. I hope it’s that easy…thing is, she hasn’t exactly worked hard yet this year! We’ll see…

      May 18, 2011 at 7:49 am

  2. Meg

    Hi I follow your blog and I love it. I live endurance vicariously through you as I have a draft cross who’s favorite speed it standing still. Which is why I needed to comment about consolation. My horse was put on spring grass for just one day yesterday and he is a horse I don’t know. My normally calm level headed draft is CRAZY. He spooked at his lead rope today and was running circles around me as I lead him in completely afraid of everything he sees every day. Is consolation on grass I read an interesting article about potassium overdose caused by spring and fall grass and it made me think of you because you said this happened last year around the same time. The potassium in the grass disrupts the sodium:potassium levels in the horses system. Signs of Hypekalemia (to much potassium) often accompany to sore feet are labored breathing, appearing “stiff” or “seized up” and reluctant to move but sometimes they will warm out of it to an extent, with tight hard muscles. May act like they are having saddle fit problems etc. I may be telling you things that you already know and if so I am sorry. Hope you figure out what is wrong with her. Like I said it only took one day on sugary spring grass for my horse to change. Last year I had him tested for Lyme because he acted back sore just when I brushed him. Again sorry if I am telling you something you already know. Good luck! I love reading your stories!
    Meg

    May 17, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Meg! 😀 Consolation isn’t on grass, so I’m pretty sure that’s not the problem — I hand graze her some, but not a whole lot because she doesn’t need all that sugar, either.

      May 18, 2011 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

