In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Take Two

Sandstorm’s 2009 filly by Insider was supposed to move to Oregon last summer.  The product of a commissioned breeding, she was guaranteed a good home before she was born.  But you know how it is.  Life gets in the way, and much to the intended owner’s dismay, the sale fell through.

Fortunately, the filly had caught another pair of eyes:  Ironman’s.  Which means that she will remain here at In the Night Farm.  Which makes me very happy.

Incognito, 2009 Barb filly (Insider x Sandstorm) with owner Michael Ensch

Formerly called Inara, this lovely filly has been rechristened Incognito (Nito for short).  I’m guessing she’ll shed out grulla roan, with a copper sheen and perhaps even corns like her sire’s.  Her thick mane is already long enough to touch the point of her chest.  Better yet, she’s courageous, smart, rational, and curious — and I have the privilage of serving as her head trainer.

The bad news?  Working with this Insider baby makes me want one of my own!

10 responses

  1. Oh I was wondering what the story was on little miss Inara-turned-Incognito!!! I fell in love with her when you announced her birth, and I am so glad she now belongs to a well-deserving Michael. Congratulations Michael!!!

    May 15, 2011 at 10:03 am

    • Awww. 🙂 She’s here and happy, and I can hardly wait to see how she looks 5 years from now!

      May 15, 2011 at 11:17 am

  2. sj

    Ironman knows a classy filly when he sees one.
    🙂

    sj

    May 15, 2011 at 11:50 am

  3. good news…look forward to seeing her shed out.
    congrats to Michael.

    May 15, 2011 at 12:31 pm

  4. Rosanne

    They make a handsome pair! Lucky Michael…lucky you! 🙂

    May 15, 2011 at 2:26 pm

  5. She is beautiful, Tamara!! I can see why you want to keep her in the family.

    I had concerns about her soft pasterns as a foal, but she must have straightened out…yes? Her foal pictures also show her to be laterally gaited. Did she retain any of that? Looking forward to seeing her summer coat as well. More pictures soon?

    Liane

    June 10, 2011 at 11:59 am

    • Thanks, Liane. Yes, she’s grown up with lovely, strong legs. 🙂 Every once in a while, I think I catch her gaiting, but it’s so inconsistent that I’m really not sure. None of the others in my herd are gaited, though I have my suspicions about the way Acey glides downhill. I don’t know much about gaiting — is it likely that a horse would slip into a “gaited gear” preferentially when going downhill??

      June 10, 2011 at 1:07 pm

  6. She could. Some horses just gait at liberty, others gait better under saddle. If her right front and right back legs move in unison, it is a pace (2 beats – 1, 2; 1,2); if same side legs still move in unison but with a slightly different foot fall front and back, it could be any number of gaits (2 beats – 1 and 2 and…), we know as a paso llano, corto, largo, single foot, or running walk, etc. The trot is a diagonal gait, when opposite front right, left back are parallel, much like the trot of a dog. Look at Nito’s foal pictures, she is moving laterally. It is there if you want to ask her for it when the time comes. Even if the filly is inconsistent, she could still learn to do it on request if you want it.

    My Peruvian mare trots at liberty and gaits under saddle. She also has a pretty decent canter at liberty. I have not pushed her into it yet under saddle.

    Many North African Barbs exhibit lateral gaits too.

    Would love to come see your herd sometime. You have some very nice horses.

    Liane

    June 10, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    • Interesting, thanks! I remember commenting on Nito’s lateral movement back when she was a little thing, but I don’t know enough to say exactly what gait it was. I’ll watch her more carefully to see what she’s doing at liberty these days. Who knows what we might discover in a couple years, when starting her under saddle! There are certainly some gaited horses among the Painter Barbs; I don’t know of anyone who is specifically working on that with them, though I know many are interested in the quality. It would be fun to have you out to the farm one of these days! Oh, and in answer to your question earlier, YES, I’ll get some more photos of Nito up soon. She’s still a touch shaggy (shedding) but should be over that shortly.

      June 11, 2011 at 7:01 am

  7. B.A. Riojas

    Incognito looks and sounds amazing.
    Congrats Tamara

    June 19, 2013 at 7:56 am

Leave a Reply

