In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Acey Underway

Everyone is commenting on the weather this spring — even more than usual.  The past few weeks have seemed more volatile than usual, buffeted as they’ve been between windborne rains, freezing nights, and a few glorious, summery days.

Yesterday was one of the latter, and I took full advantage of it.  After a long ride on Consolation, I saddled Acey for her second ride of the year.  Getting her ready took longer than usual because, adorably pixieish as she is, Acey isn’t the easiest horse to tack up with the equipment I own.  I need to do some shopping to find a breastcollar, cinch, and bridle that will fit her not-exactly-horse, not-exactly-pony proportions. 

Then, there are her feet.  They’re just a hair too small for her 00 Easyboot Gloves.  I’ll try adding Powerstraps, but my previous experience in putting Powerstraps on very small boots is that they pucker the V too much, resulting in a sharp little “nose” on the boot.  (Has anybody solved this problem?  Am I doing something wrong?)   

Anyway, I’m hopeful that increased mileage will result in sufficient expansion of Acey’s hooves that boot sizing is no longer an issue.  The question is how I’m going to get her feet through the miles between here and there.

Yesterday, I took her out in the 00 Gloves, sans Powerstraps.  Their fit wasn’t ideal, but I reckoned we’d be okay for walking on fairly even ground.  As usual with a green horse, particularly one that I haven’t ridden in several months, I started out on foot and mounted up when everything felt right.  As it happened, that was just a quarter-mile up the road.

She was the horse I remembered from last fall — quick, courageous, and energetic.  I still sense some potential defiance bubbling under the surface, which I suspect will come out as she gains confidence under saddle.  I’m hoping to head it off at the pass with extra arena work, gradually balancing softness and compliance with her low frustration/boredom threshold.

Maybe I’ll have a chance to get back astride her today.  I’ll be preparing Easter dinner for a small crew, but I planned a menu that won’t require me to spend all day in the kitchen.  As much as I like to cook, I’d rather be out among the equines!

14 responses

  1. I don’t think your doing anything wrong with the boots. She’s just petite! I had that similar issue with JB , even though he is likely a bit bigger than Acey. I never got the gloves to work on him and went to the Epics with comfort pads and few other “customizations” like cutting the tounge down a bit. They did the trick. I know they do have the pony sizes , maybe try those?? Nice to hear you have another going down the trail. She is just a doll by the way..

    April 24, 2011 at 6:36 am

    • Interesing about JB’s feet. What size Epics does he wear? I’m curious because Tuetano (half-brother to JB, for other readers) has big, beautiful, bell-shaped hooves.

      I’m still working on a bit of flare with Acey’s hooves; I’m sure taking care of that will help with Glove fit. Meanwhile, I *might* have some 00 Bares I could try. Ugh, I remember what a wrestling match they are to get on, though. I’ve never tried Epics.

      And, thanks. 🙂 She is pretty dang cute.

      April 24, 2011 at 6:51 am

  2. Don’t have experience with boots, sorry. But! I can tell you that the photograph of you and Acey is sensational. So sweet.

    April 24, 2011 at 7:45 am

    • 🙂 Thanks, Lori. The photographer is Michael Ensch.

      April 24, 2011 at 8:04 am

  3. Of your horses this one has always been my favorite. I’m a total sucker for a bay horse and she is definitely a beautiful example of that 🙂

    April 24, 2011 at 9:13 am

    • Aww, thanks Jacke. I’ll tell her (quietly, so the others don’t hear)!

      April 24, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  4. I am loving following your blog. I agree that this is a superb photograph. Regarding the bares, I removed the hardware at the front of mine and put on the Easy-up cables instead. They are sooooo much easier to put on and off and have been a good boot since doing that. Good luck. Boot fitting can be so frutrating but well worth it when you finally get it right for you and the horse!

    April 24, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    • Thanks, Kirsty. Wow, BRILLIANT modification on the Bares! I’ll try that, if the 00’s I have fit Acey. I definitely want to make boots work for her. I haven’t had a shod horse in over 15 years.

      April 24, 2011 at 3:47 pm

  5. Rosanne

    We haven’t used the gloves-just the Epics. I’m considering trying Renegades for one of my horses. That sure is a fantastic photo of you and Acey together! 🙂

    April 25, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    • Thanks, Rosanne. You must try the Gloves if you get a chance. So easy and light!

      April 25, 2011 at 1:20 pm

  6. have you tried putting tape on her hooves before putting the boots on? we usually use athletic tape – just one wrap all the way around, and a friend uses good ol’ duct tape.

    April 27, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    • I haven’t tried the tape thing yet, but I’m afraid I may have to!

      April 28, 2011 at 6:35 am

  7. I just adore little Acey, she is just a doll…. I think she might fit in my pocket!

    The comments about the boot fitting solutions will definitely come in handy! Thanks for writing such an awesome blog.

    April 29, 2011 at 9:17 am

    • She probably would! It’s difficult to look at her without having one’s voice rise several octives. 😉 Stay tuned for more adventures in booting…

      April 29, 2011 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

