In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Special Delivery

I wish my camera wasn’t broken! 

I want to show you what arrived in a little package a from Stonewall this week.  Jackie sent a good-luck-for-an-injury-free-year gift of the softest, most beautiful mohair cinch made by Beartooth Quality Cinch.  The mohair is black twist with red accents, so soft I want to wear it myself, and has double roller buckles (love those!).  Mine is the roper style, 5 inches wide in the middle and tapering to 2-inch ends.  Jackie tells me that you can specify width and color when ordering, which you can do right here on the Stonewall site.  Thanks, Jackie!!!

A few other boxes have arrived here lately, too.  I took advantage of end-of-season sales to order a couple pairs of winter breeches, some cold-weather riding boots, and a good pair of insulated riding gloves.  I won’t be using them for a while…although there is light frost on the ground this morning…but when the last rides of the year roll around, I’m set for clothes!

Before that, though, I’ll be spending a lot of hours under the sun.  So, I picked up a hat and some lightweight, long-sleeved sun shirts from Sierra Trading Post, which almost always has some good deals on their website.

I’m still looking for one more thing:  a summer-weight vest with zipper pockets.  Anybody know where I can get one?  *crickets*  Seriously, how hard can it be to get a light “hiking” vest?  I want it to wear riding on hot days, mostly for a place to stash my phone.  (Yes, I have one of those neoprene and velcro phone holster things, but what a pain.)

Make that two more things:  I also want a truckbed camper to complete an endurance camping ensemble with (ta-da!) my new horse trailer!  Okay, it’s not brand new, but it’s new to me — and a whole lot newer than the stock trailer I’ve been using for several years.  A living-quarters trailer would have been lovely, but I refuse to go into debt over a horse trailer.  Besides, taking the bumper-pull plus camper route will make the camper available for other kinds of expeditions.  So, I decided to go with a basic, sturdy, 3-horse slant with tack room.  A friend will be here later today to talk about customizing it with such things as panel racks and outside lights.

Oh yeah.  I also need a new camera.  🙂

21 responses

  1. YAY for you on the new trailer.!!. can’t wait to see photos. The going into debt over living quarters is a valid concern. I can’t believe the price they are getting for those, even older ones.

    April 23, 2011 at 7:54 am

    • No kidding! I looked, but nothing doing. I like the camper plan, though, for its flexibility. Pics to follow, when I get that camera (or figure out how to post from my phone, which is undoubtably smarter than I am…and it’s not even a smartphone!)

      April 23, 2011 at 6:55 pm

  2. Congrats on the new loot! Sounds wonderful – especially the trailer 🙂

    April 23, 2011 at 8:43 am

    • Totally stoked about the trailer!!!

      April 23, 2011 at 6:54 pm

  3. AKPonyGirl

    Try a fishing vest. They have lots of pockets and are lightweight. You might have to tailor one to fit you but I think it might be just what you are looking for.

    April 23, 2011 at 11:04 am

    • You know, I looked at fishing vests. They’re all so puffy and short! And I couldn’t sew myself into a burlap sack, so…umm…

      April 23, 2011 at 6:52 pm

      • AKPonyGirl

        Look in the Cabela’s catalog/online. There are lots of different vests for different types of fishing. Look at shooting sports vests also. They are longer, and have different pockets. Al else fails, design your own!

        April 25, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      • Ah, Cabelas is a good idea. Duh. A shooting vest would be useful for its original intent, as well. I’ll give them a look!

        Design my own? Ahahahahahahaha! Not gonna happen.

        April 26, 2011 at 6:28 am

  4. spurringirl

    I love my BLACKHAWK! grid fleece vest but I’m biased.

    http://www.blackhawk.com/product/Grid-Fleece-Vest,1477,31.htm

    April 23, 2011 at 11:23 am

    • I like the look, but I have lots of fleece vests. I need something for summer. Is this one REALLY, REALLY light?

      April 23, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  5. Congrats on the new toys! I love to get horse related goodies on my doorstep. But my budget has been shot, stone, cold, and dead for 2011. The girth sounds nice. ~E.G.

    April 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    • Yeah, a lot of months feel that way here, too. I figure we’re blessed to have just the horses, let along all the stuff that goes with them.

      April 23, 2011 at 6:51 pm

  6. I have a lightweight vest. Didn’t know it was such a hot commodity! I got mine at the local thrift shop.

    I went in debt for my first LQ and paid it off quickly. When I downsized/upgraded, I sold the first and only spent that on the new/used one. And I did it fast. Knew the $$ would quickly go to something else if I didn’t act quickly & did not want to go in debt a second time for a trailer. I am going to have to get a new truck… hoping it holds together one more season… but won’t be planning any long trips.

    Cell phone pics! We want to see the loot! 🙂

    April 23, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    • Lucky! 😉 I wonder if I can figure out how to get pics from my phone to my laptop…um…I did actually TAKE a photo of the lovely cinch, at your suggestion…does that count?

      April 23, 2011 at 6:50 pm

  7. Crysta

    There’s no good pic, but I have one of these vests and LOVE it!!
    http://www.horseloverz.com/Romfh-Adult-Multi-Tek-Vest-pr-303890.html

    Mine is a light blue. It’s very lightweight, like a windbreaker material, with zip shut pockets. It looks nice enough I’ve worn it to non-horse functions on weekends and such. Highly recommend!

    April 23, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    • Thanks for the recommendation, Crysta! For $9, I can hardly go wrong…checking it out! It gets so hot here in summer that I’d prefer something that is breathable, though a light windbreaker style would see many days of use as well. Hmmmm.

      April 23, 2011 at 6:49 pm

  8. Rosanne

    The Cool Medics vest would be perfect if it had pockets. They really do keep you cool in the heat. It’s fun to get new stuff…especially a trailer! We have a LQ which I love…but sometimes wish we had a two horse bumper-pull for short day trips. And we love the mohair cinchas! 🙂

    April 23, 2011 at 7:42 pm

  9. Try an SPI belt (small personal item). I have one with two pockets, one for my phone, and the other for other stuff just in case…but it turns out I have never had anything else I have needed to carry in the second pocket. They do make them with just one pocket. They’re elastic, so very comfy, but the pockets are tiny enough (made of stretchy material so they do hold a lot) that they don’t look like a fanny pack at all! Honest!

    April 26, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    • LOL Okay, I’ll check them out on your word that they don’t look like fanny packs. Thanks for the idea!

      April 26, 2011 at 1:36 pm

  10. The runner here coming out of lurk mode:

    DEFINITELY look at running gear. This is a vest lots of runners love to use for trail running: http://www.amazon.com/Nathan-Lightweight-Race-Pocket-Light/dp/B000RIAVEK

    I am not sure what the new model is as that one looks hard to find. But you get the idea.

    I’d recommend the iFitness belt over the SpiBelt. Same idea, but iFitness is much better, in my opinion. I have both and use the iFitness more often. I used to stash my phone in my iFitness when I went horseback riding and it doesn’t bounce. They have models with two pockets as well.

    April 28, 2011 at 8:19 am

    • Thanks for de-lurking — I hadn’t thought of running gear. Thanks!!!

      April 28, 2011 at 8:23 am

Leave a Reply

