In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

High Gear

Twenty days have passed since I first stepped back aboard Consolation, post-injury. Despite craziness at the office and an astonishing panoply of spring weather conditions, we’ve put in several good rides each week. My hip, though still noticeably sub-par, is getting stronger by the day.

So is Consolation.

Between winter storms and my recovery time, she enjoyed a 4-month break. I wondered how quickly she’d come back to endurance fitness. So far, I’m impressed. She’s already lost the huffy-puffies of our earliest sojourns, her attitude is bright, and she’s sound and solid every step of the way.

And, she still has her turbo thrusters! You may recall that, after two years of sloooooow trotting, Consolation finally discovered SPEED near the end of last year’s endurance season. In fact, I worked my tush off trying to rein her in on our last day at Owhyee Canyonlands 2010.

After that race, I decided that if Consolation wanted to flip a speed switch at rides, she was perfectly capable of conditioning at a brisker pace, too. Enter the dressage whip and “power trot” sessions…and finally, FINALLY, our average pace ticked upward.

And then, winter. Long rest. Would she remember, come spring?

Well, let me tell you: Not only does she remember, she wants to trot fast! She wants to canter! We’re focusing mostly on LSD work, obviously, but our “L” is longer than I expected it to be this early in the season, and our “S” isn’t nearly as slow as it used to be.

Now, if we can just get a few days without rain, we’ll haul out to the nearest stretch of BLM land and motor up some hills. Va-room!

13 responses

  1. Jackie

    Glad to know your recovery is progressing and sounds as if you and Consolation will have some fun rides!

    March 25, 2011 at 4:37 pm

  2. Sounds like you two are ready for some serious action!

    March 25, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    • We’re getting there! I doubt we’ll be ready for a race before the end of May, but hopefully we can squeeze in a good summer of rides.

      March 26, 2011 at 5:49 am

  3. Rosanne

    Sounds like Consolation is ready for ride season! It’s nice that she’s remembered her fast trot. Here’s hoping your hip gets back to normal soon. πŸ™‚

    March 25, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    • Thanks! I was sooo glad she remembered, because it was quite a process getting there.

      March 26, 2011 at 5:49 am

  4. I need for you to come have a speed up on training rides session with Phebes, and then a slow down at LD ride session. We’d have it going on.

    Glad you two are back at it and you are feeling well. ~E.G.

    March 26, 2011 at 4:09 am

    • I hear you! It did take some very focused work to get Consolation using that trot regularly. She still needs reminders, but volunteers it more and more often. As for reining in at rides, I think we’re going to be working on that this year, too. Be careful what you as for, eh? πŸ˜‰

      March 26, 2011 at 5:51 am

  5. Tamara! I am so excited for you and Milady Consolation! Glad your hip is healing, as well, of course!

    After this eventful year, I am back into training for my first LD (Gah, third time is a charm, is it not???), and I just wanted to thank you again for being the catalyst, the one who got me into this sport! It has a way of healing the soul, as you well know. I just posted a new entry on my Diving Into Endurance Riding blog, if you would like to read it.

    http://rideendurance.blogspot.com/2011/03/i-will-try-harder-this-time.html

    Good luck this season!

    March 26, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    • πŸ˜€ Hooray! This is your year! Wish you lived closer, darn it. I subscribed so I can follow along anyway. Good luck!!!

      March 27, 2011 at 5:09 am

  6. I actually lived in Logan, Utah (not far, in Western terms, from Caldwell, Idaho) from September 2008 to September 2009. I discovered your blog when I was there, and I dreamed of visiting In The Night Farm to see your beautiful barbs! Ahhhh, someday!

    March 27, 2011 at 11:34 am

  7. Tom

    I’ll be there isn’t one person in 5,000+ who can really handle and train barbs. You’re amazing, that’s for sure.

    Looking forward to lots of stories of success this season.

    April 3, 2011 at 7:54 pm

Leave a Reply

