In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

All Aboard!

“The better you ride, the harder you fall.  Beginners fall off. Good riders get launched.” ~ Jean White, advising all riders to wear helmets.

I hope Jean’s quote, in light of the fact that I’m still recovering from that launch in January, means I’ve gotten really good.  That would be some comfort in the face of the fact that I am busy paying medical bills instead of attending the AERC convention.

On the bright side, my recovery is progressing such that I’ve been able to accomplish some good things on the farm over the past few weeks:

  • Ironman and I have started fencing the hill pasture where I’d like the horses to spend their summer afternoons.
  • I’ve taken Consolation and Acey along for miles of handwalks, partly for their benefit (bare hooves on gravel, and mental stimulation) and partly for my own physical therapy.
  • I’ve returned to my hoof trimming schedule — thank goodness, because 9 horses is a lot to catch up on when I get behind.
  • As the round corral has dried and my muscles knit, I’ve started some training and conditioning (Dancing — Wow, look how young Consolation is in those photos!) with Consolation, Acey, Ripple, and CrackerJack.

And, in really exciting news…  I RODE YESTERDAY!

Just four miles.  And I won’t lie — I felt it in my hip, which is swollen this morning, and I’m not sure I’d have had the strength to stick a spook.  I felt unusually stiff and unbalanced.  But I rode! 

Good thing, because I’m looking forward to the upcoming endurance season.  Consolation and I may not be ready for the first couple rides in our area, but I have my sights set on Owyhee Fandango in late May.

In the meantime, I’ll squeeze in as much training as I can between spring rains.  This weekend, my round corral is soaked, slick, and out of the question.  I anticipate some drizzly hours of roadside groundwork with Acey and Ripple.  Trailer loading with CJ and Consolation.  Maybe even another ride. 

A girl could do worse.

16 responses

  1. That was good to news to read about, Tamara. We miss you at the convention and several friends have stopped by the booth and send a Howdy to you!

    March 5, 2011 at 9:52 am

    • Aww, thanks Jackie! I SOOOO wish I was there!

      March 5, 2011 at 10:20 am

  2. I recently just subscribed your blog and am really enjoying it 🙂 Love your Barb horses! Glad to hear you are healing up and back in the saddle. I’ve also been reading your other blog on nutrition and really enjoying that as well! I’ve started eating “primal” a few months ago and really noticed a difference in how I was feeling and I am actually enjoying food a lot more. Anyways, just thought I’d leave a note to let you know I’m following 🙂

    March 5, 2011 at 10:25 am

    • Thanks Jess, and welcome! I love readers who take the time to comment. 😀

      March 5, 2011 at 10:29 am

  3. Dom

    Brilliant quote!

    March 5, 2011 at 11:40 am

  4. Rosanne

    Glad to hear you are back in the saddle again! Hopefully, your hip will start co-operating again. I have always enjoyed handwalking my horses. I sometimes feel closest to them when we are just taking a stroll and enjoying the day.

    March 5, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    • Agreed. The benefits of handwalking are myriad. 🙂 I rode again yesterday and my hip did seem to accomodate it better. Maybe it’s just a flexibility thing I need to work through.

      March 6, 2011 at 6:56 am

  5. Nice to know that you were able to start riding. You sure have kept busy in the meantime.

    March 5, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    • LOL Yes, I can’t resist pressing the boundaries. There’s always too much to do!

      March 6, 2011 at 6:55 am

  6. tellinghistory

    Congrats on your ride! Good for you and your horse 🙂 Love your blog.

    March 5, 2011 at 11:01 pm

  7. Haha, I talked to Jackie at the Stonewall booth for a while on Friday and thought of you, Tamara. I’m glad you’re back in the saddle again!

    March 6, 2011 at 10:43 am

  8. Tom

    So glad you were able to ride!

    March 7, 2011 at 11:31 am

  9. You rode! yay! i know how therapeutic that can be, mentally and physically. Just a little every day you can squeeze in will help. And they we’ll see you at the Fandango!

    March 13, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    • Yes, ma’am! 😀 Excited to see you!

      March 14, 2011 at 7:25 am

Leave a Reply

