In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Windsong

Winter has come to town.  Her hostess gift is a coverlet of snow cast unevenly over the remains of our Thanksgiving storm, disguising ankle-twisting craters of ice.  She is borne on the east wind, which here is cruel and clawed.

She woke me with a clatter of hail and scratch of snow on the skylights.  She stopped the hounds, solid as a brick wall to their faces, when I opened the door for them to race outside.

I leaned into her stinging darkness, muffled in a rabbit-skin cap, hustling through morning chores.  The barn cats padded resolutely after, their delicate tracks obliterated like ghosts beneath the swirling snow.

And the horses!  Oh, they pretended to hate the wind that wound their tails like vines about their hocks.  They pinned their ears and thrust their muzzles at the sky.  They chased her about their paddocks like an impertinent filly.

Secretly, whimsically, I wished to take them all back to my living room.  They could curl beneath the Christmas tree, a bizarre nativity, and I would serve them gingerbread and cider and sing them carols.

Instead, I threw them extra hay.  Even the cats  talked me out of extra breakfast.  Now, I am back beneath the domed roof of my farmhouse, sipping coffee, surrounded by sleeping dogs, and daydreaming, childlike, of horses in the snow.

12 responses

  1. A beautiful description of what I think of as ugly weather. It’s back here, too. My only consolation is we had a gorgeous, long fall.

    December 18, 2010 at 7:40 am

    • Thanks, Tammy. I confess that, despite winter’s fierce beauty, I am eager for spring so I can ride regularly again!

      December 18, 2010 at 8:07 am

  2. Rosanne

    I can almost feel the biting wind. Now I need a nice hot cup of tea.

    December 18, 2010 at 8:05 am

    • The weather outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful… 😉 Enjoy!

      December 18, 2010 at 8:09 am

  3. I can’t say enough about the way you have with words. Stay by that fire.

    December 18, 2010 at 10:02 am

  4. sj

    Always a pleasure to read your work.
    You have a keen eye, a strong heart, and a unique voice.
    Makes me yearn for gingerbread and cider.

    sj

    December 19, 2010 at 10:19 am

    • 🙂 C’mon over, my friend. I’ll even make an exception to paleo for it.

      December 19, 2010 at 11:06 am

  5. Amazing Tamara…your writing…your life….what a gift you are to this earth. ❤

    December 24, 2010 at 9:56 am

    • *blush* I’m not sure I deserve that…but I’ll try to!

      December 24, 2010 at 5:26 pm

  6. I don’t see a problem taking them in your living room. The Yosts take *their* horses in their living room!

    December 25, 2010 at 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

