In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

The Old Gray Mare

The sun came out today.  It spilled warmth across the snow still cast like a discarded bridal veil over the curves and valleys of my farm.  The icy crust softened, no longer knifelike on equine legs.  Its perfection begged to be broken.

I wasted no time on breeches, belt, or chaps.  Old sweatpants and two layers of fleece would do, a hat beneath my helmet, gloves.  Consolation wore only her Indian bosal, more halter than bridle.  Is there any way but bareback to ride o’er deep and drifted snow?

Consolation has never carried a rider in such environs.  The peculiar quiet, broken only by trains of geese that clattered across the sky, made her jump at every turn.  A flurry of game birds set her heart to pounding beneath my knee.  She snorted and bounced, all wild eye and fun, until the knee-deep effort set her mind to task.

Her tension ebbed, and I rocked astride her like a boat at anchor.  Both hands on the reins, fingers extending lightly to keep time with her bobbing head.  Both heels pressed into air beneath her ribs.  Both scanning the snow for safest passage.  Both inhaling chill and passing warmth between us.

To ride bareback is to play in duet.  It is sex that happens because it is supposed to, not because someone planned it.  It is naked dressage, riding stripped to essentials.  Balance.  Contact.  Depth.   Feel.  Dare I say Love?

No.  For all the storybooks, the anecdotes, I still cannot believe that horses love.  Not in the way of dogs and men.  That which a horse offers, to one deserving, is a finer treasure still:  it is Trust.

Consolation has not been an easy horse.  As recently as last April, I remained unsure that I would keep her, after all.  Our relationship had been a struggle between wills, two alpha mares unwilling to bow.  And yet, today, we traveled with nothing between us, partners adrift in an icy meadow crisscrossed with tracks of pheasant and quail, of rabbits and dual coyotes that bounded after.

We will ride like this again, someday.  Someday, when she is thirty and I am fifty-four, Consolation and I will chase another winter sunset, together, as far as we can go.

Photo by Michael Ensch

You might also like:  On Consolation

13 responses

  1. Beautifully written…I hope you keep her!

    December 5, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    • Oh, I’ll keep her. No question. Thanks for being such a loyal reader, Lori.

      December 5, 2010 at 5:33 pm

  2. Dom

    I got chills.

    December 5, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    • Music to a writer’s ears, Dom. I thank you.

      December 5, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  3. Rosanne

    I am a new reader here. I was pulled in by your horses…but your writing has sucked me in even deeper. To gain the trust of a horse is to me, the greatest compliment.

    December 6, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    • Welcome, Rosanne! Thanks — and thanks for reading. 🙂

      December 7, 2010 at 6:58 am

  4. Very very beautiful.
    What happens, when a horse and I can be present, witnessing each other at the same time, is a great mystery to me. Call it love, affection, presence, I don’t know. It’s mysterious and lovely. You caught that perfectly.

    December 8, 2010 at 12:16 am

    • Thanks, Jane. That’s high praise, coming from you — one of my favorite bloggers. 🙂

      December 8, 2010 at 7:52 am

  5. Nice : )

    December 9, 2010 at 6:27 pm

  6. Lovely! I know of what you speak because when I ride my mare bareback it is truly awesome. I am not an experienced rider and so I keep my bareback rides to the small pasture. But some day we will take a ride such as you speak of. Beautiful mare you have by the way. Love your blog, and have only just discovered it.

    December 11, 2010 at 10:49 am

    • Thanks, Jody, and welcome! Glad to have you reading. 🙂

      December 11, 2010 at 11:18 am

  7. Pingback: Another Round « The Barb Wire

Leave a Reply

