In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

Stocking Stuffers

I am stuck.

At least 18 inches of snow fell on In the Night Farm this week, most of it in fewer than 24 hours.  Now, a snowman waves from the top of my driveway (thanks, Ironman) and my car is stranded at the bottom.  It was all well and good until rain fell and turned all that snow to ice…

On the bright side, my internet connection seems to have been restored to full vitality, just in time for me to discover these:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Steph Teeter and Merri Melde created 2011 “toon” calendars in the style that has become beloved among endurance riders everywhere via endurance.net, where you can order your own.  (Psst!  There’s a Tevis story calendar, too!)  Those of us who live close enough to attend these rides are especially privilaged to have a varitey of completion awards to match.  Thanks, Owyhee endurance folks!

While you’re in the mood, click over to Spartacus Jones’ website.  I reviewed his Many Ponies CD a couple years ago, and I still think it should be on your shopping list.

Need another idea?  Check out the precision hoof picks at Stonewall Saddle Company.  They have ruler etched into the handle for checking hoof balance.  Cool!  (Not as cool as the actual Stonewall saddles, but those are harder to fit in your average stocking.)

Okay, your turn.  What horsey gifts have you found around the web this year?  This is your chance to leave a comment containing the kind of (legitimate!) link that I’d normally block.  If you make or sell a cool stocking stuffer for horse people, or know someone who does, share it with us!

8 responses

  1. No stocking stuffer ideas…just wanted to say that the pictures on your sidebar are absolutely stunning.

    December 3, 2010 at 6:07 pm

  2. Tom

    I bought one of those hoof picks. It’s pretty cool, even though I haven’t really made use of it. 🙂

    December 3, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    • Awesome. I want one, too! I think I’d use it when doing trims — remembering, of course, to use my brain as well. 🙂

      December 4, 2010 at 6:49 am

  3. Two stocking stuffers I can recommend are: 1) the Bitten bit warmer (from Bittenstore.com) which is a terrific, easy to use cloth pouch with a heat pack inside, used to warm the horse’s bit, and 2) German horse muffins (from equusmagnificus.com) that are a delicious, soft, oats and molasses treat that my horse loves. Good post!

    December 6, 2010 at 7:29 pm

  4. I had to quit shopping online because I was buying for myself! thanks for the Owyhee ‘Toons plug.
    : )
    It’s all Steph’s fault… now I am addicted to doing them too!

    December 9, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    • Y’all should start a 12-step program. Toonies Anonymous?

      December 9, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Leave a Reply

