In the Night Farm…Your Ride is Here.

It’s Your Party!

A year ago today, The Barb Wire began with this post. Since then, a lot of trail has passed beneath my stirrups:

Aaruba and I completed our first Limited Distance race. And our second. And our first 50-miler. And our second. Better yet, he overcame his cow phobia.

Consolation won the honor of becoming the first horse to dump me in quite a few years. She also got a good start under saddle and on the trail, which included a great effort to excise her herdbound behavior.

Acey had her first ride, plus a few more. Tuetano didn’t do much. (He was storing it all up for this year.) Ripple Effect and Crackerjack got to be babies, mostly. Sandstorm got a good start on gentling. Insider got a girlfriend.

I got an awesome sponsor, over 1,200 miles in the saddle (at an average speed of 6.49 mph, in case you were wondering), a new favorite CD, and some fantastic friends I’d never have met without this blog.

All told, The Barb Wire saw 190 posts and nearly 25,000 hits. Yeah, I know. Some of the megablogs out there get 25,000 hits a day. You gotta start somewhere, right? Besides, they many have more readers, but I have better readers. I can’t tell you how many times your comments have made my day.

You’re the best, and I thank you.
_________________________________________________________

Come along for another year at In the Night Farm!

Subscribe to The Barb Wire

8 responses

  1. A great year for you with alot of goals accomplished. Best wishes for 2009 with many, many more trail miles passing beneath fleet feet.

    March 10, 2009 at 5:14 pm

  2. we love it!keep it coming.

    March 10, 2009 at 8:16 pm

  3. I want to see more shots in the dark…they are dazzling.

    March 10, 2009 at 8:26 pm

  4. Too funny, I started my blog a year ago yesterday! Until I read your post I’d forgotten.It’s amazing how fast the year has gone. It’s also amazing that I can still think of things to write.

    March 10, 2009 at 11:52 pm

  5. Happy anniversary, m’darlin.’:)sj

    March 11, 2009 at 3:22 am

  6. Happy blog birthday! I hope this year is just as eventful and even safer than last year.

    March 11, 2009 at 4:27 am

  7. Congratulations! I’ve only recently started following your blog, but I love every bit of it. You’re an excellent writer, the photos are beautiful and the subject is my favorite. Thanks for sharing your skills and experiences. I look forward to every post!Betsy

    March 11, 2009 at 2:16 pm

  8. Thanks, Jackie. We’ll give it our best shot!You got it, Kim…and the same to you!Lori, I’m hoping for more opportunities once the furballs shed out and the mud dries up. :-)Liz, what are the chances!? You’re doing wonderfully — keep it up!Thanks, SJ. Come with me, will you?Me too, Funder, me too. *crosses fingers*Thanks and welcome, Betsy. Glad to have you along!

    March 12, 2009 at 12:07 am

Leave a Reply

